

## ASSOCIATION OF WASHINGTON SCHOOL PRINCIPALS

1021 8th Ave. S.E. · Olympia, WA 98501-1500 800.562.6100 · 360.357.7951 · FAX: 360.357.7966 · www.awsp.org

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 15, 2011

## Rep. Kathy Haigh Honored With AWSP Torch of Leadership Award

Longtime legislator and former school board member 'really gets' principals' role in education

OLYMPIA -- State Representative Kathy Haigh (D-35th) is the recipient of the Association of Washington School Principals' 2011 Torch of Leadership Award. The award honors a state-level public servant who has demonstrated support of principals and the principalship in the education of all students.

Haigh is being recognized for her consistent leadership on education-related legislation and her dedication to K-12 funding issues.

Elected to the Washington State House of Representatives in 1999, Haigh serves as chair of the House Education Appropriations and Oversight Committee. She is also a member of the House Education Committee and has sponsored a number of important education-related pieces of legislation. Active in her local community of Shelton, Haigh served for 12 years on the board at Southside School. In March, she was honored with the Pioneer Educator Award by the organization Washington Families for Online Learning.

"Kathy understands the critical role that principals play in establishing and maintaining the learning culture of a school," said AWSP Director of Governmental Relations Jerry Bender. "She gets that principals need tools that work for them and their students, not against them."

Vinh Lan Nguyen, Principal at Orchards Elementary (Evergreen PS), and chair of AWSP's Legislation Committee, agrees. "Kathy puts so much effort in finding ways to provide a quality education to Washington students and also to improve our current education system. An example of her innovative ideas is her leadership in support of online public school programs which aims at removing geographic and economic barriers while preparing students for the work force in the future."

Haigh will be honored at AWSP's Legislative Committee meeting in October. AWSP established the Torch of Leadership Award in 2009. Past recipients include Rep. Pat Sullivan (D-47th) in 2010 and Sen. Rodney Tom (D-48th) in 2009. Nominations are submitted by AWSP's Legislative Committee and final selection is made by a panel of committee and staff members.

## **MEDIA CONTACT**

Linda Farmer, APR | Director of Communications | O: 360.357.7951 | C: 253.232.2891 | lindaf@awsp.org

###