Dr. Ismael Vivanco is our 2024 AWSP President’s Award Winner

David Morrill, Communications & Technology Director, AWSP
Jul 09, 2024

President's Award

Longtime superintendent recognized for ongoing support for school leaders

a photo of a man in a suit with blue shirt and tie

      Dr. Ismael Vivanco

OLYMPIA –– Every year, the AWSP Board President selects someone to receive the AWSP President’s Award. The award goes to someone who is a relentless advocate for principals and assistant principals, and the principalship, in the education of each and every student (AWSP’s mission). Dave Riddle, the 2023-24 AWSP Board President and principal at LaVenture Middle School in the Mount Vernon School District, selected Dr. Ismael Vivanco this year. He is the outgoing Mount Vernon School District superintendent and currently serves as the superintendent at Northwest Educational Service District 189.  

“Dr. Vivanco is the kind of systems leader who consistently supports the work of his principals. He listens to them, places trust in them, values their expertise, and stands behind his leaders' decisions,” explained Dave Riddle. “His support of individual school leaders fostered strong and effective leadership in Mount Vernon and directly aided AWSP’s mission. In addition to his leadership across the district, I will always appreciate his investment in me and his support of my leadership journey.”

Before leading the Mount Vernon School District, Dr. Vivanco was a superintendent in the Orondo, Palisades, and Entiat school districts. He also worked for the North Central Educational Service District, serving as the Associate Executive Director of Academic Achievement, the Director of Migrant Education, a curriculum specialist, and a Title III Project Director, at the North Central Educational Service District. 

“Dr. Ismael Vivanco has been a longtime supporter of the important role school leaders play in the system. He clearly understands and values the impact of highly effective and sustained school leadership and will do everything in his power to ensure every school has a fantastic leader,” said Dr. Scott Seaman, AWSP’s Executive Director. 

Throughout his career, Dr. Vivanco’s efforts and focus have aligned with AWSP's effort to grow, support, and sustain principals and the principalship. His track record for supporting school leaders is one of many reasons he is a great choice for the AWSP President’s Award.

  • President's Award
  • Awards & Recognition
Back To Top