Inside AWSP



Principals, assistant principals and those who support their efforts are making a difference in the quality of education offered in Washington state. There are several prestigious awards that celebrate individuals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement and community involvement as well as individuals who advocate for education and the principalship.

Principals of the Year

Each year, AWSP recognizes outstanding principals with Principal of the Year awards. We also recognize one assistant principal every year. The awards provide significant recognition on the regional and state level. Each year, the top secondary principal winner is eligible to compete at the national level for National Principal of the Year. In September 2012, Trevor Greene became our state's first National Principal of the Year.

2019 POY_and_APOY_graphic

Torch of Leadership Award

The Torch of Leadership Award honors individuals serving in the Washington state government who have demonstrated outstanding support of principals and the principalship. The award was established in 2009.

Nominations are submitted by members of the AWSP Advocacy Committee, and the final selection is made by committee and AWSP staff members. Recipients are named in the spring after the legislative session and honored in October at the AWSP’s fall meeting of the Legislation Committee.

2020 Winner: Rep. Lisa Callan (D - 5th)

Each year, AWSP’s Advocacy Advisory Council has the opportunity to select a state-level public servant who has demonstrated support of principals and the principalship in the education of all students. For 2020, the Council selected Representative Lisa Callan as AWSP’s 2020 Torch of Leadership Award winner. Representative Callan is a Democrat representing the 5th legislative district, which includes Issaquah, North Bend, and the surrounding areas. 

In her work as a legislator, she demonstrates incredible systems-level thinking in her approach to mental health needs for children. Representative Callan puts the needs of students first in her work as a policy maker and she communicates well with stakeholders as she makes decisions. She is committed to building strong communities and an education system that equitably supports each and every child. 

Rep. Lisa Callan

President's Award

The AWSP President’s Award is given to a person outside the association who has advocated on behalf of principals and the principalship in Washington state. Recipients are chosen by the AWSP Board in consultation with the AWSP executive director. The award is presented at the association's annual conference in June.

2021 AWSP President's Award | Washington State Principals & Assistant Principals

This year, we get to honor all of you. You were able to lead your staff and students through the pandemic. You lead with empathy and compassion for both kids and adults. You created equitable systems out of thin air. You built new master schedules, online schedules, hybrid schedules, and lunch schedules...likely multiple times. You communicated with your school community like never before. You were positive even while others might have been negative. You understood student voice was more important than ever before. That's why you are the President's Award winner this year. 

president's award trophy

United States Senate Youth Program 

Each year, the William Randolph Hearst Foundation sponsors two high school juniors or seniors from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia to attend the United States Senate Youth Program - an all-expense paid, weeklong tour of Washington, DC and to receive a $10,000 scholarship.

In Washington state, the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP) administers the program. Through the AWSL, AWSP sponsors the seven week-long High School Summer Leadership Camps for student body officers, class officers and other student leaders. A selection process is identified and implemented at each camp session, with two students being selected as finalists for the Senate Youth Program scholarships from each camp.

2020-21 Winners

Ailani Baldwin senior picture

Ailani Savannah Baldwin
Henrietta Lacks Health and Bioscience High School
Evergreen Public Schools

Khanh Đoàn headshot

Khanh Doan
 Mariner High School
Mukilteo School District

For More Information About the Process, Scholarship, and Winners

The Washington State Principals' Scholars Program

This is a recognition award is given to the top 5% of the senior class of each high school. Principals can download the Award for Academic Excellence certificate below. 

For More Information 

David Morrill | Communications & Technology Director | (800) 562-6100

Back To Top