Inside AWSP

AWSP President's Award


About the Award

The AWSP President’s Award is given to a person outside the association who has advocated on behalf of principals and the principalship in Washington state. Recipients are chosen by the AWSP Board in consultation with the AWSP executive director. The award is presented at the association's annual conference in June.

2020 Winner

Bill Williams

Bill Williams

Bill Williams unfortunately passed away before he could receive the President's Award, but his wife Maxine was able to accept on his behalf. Bill served on the WSPEF Board as the business representative for many years. He was a tireless advocate for education and his vision, wisdom, and sound guidance always made an impact. He leaves an incredible legacy and will be missed tremendously. 

Bill completed his Navy service in August 1975 before beginning a 35-year career with the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Washington, serving as Senior Attorney General for the Departments of Corrections, Health, and Transportation, successfully arguing two cases before the U.S. Supreme Court (Washington v. Harper and Washington v. Glucksberg), and earning recognition from his colleagues and peers in the Angelo Petruss Award for Lawyers in Government Service from the Washington State Bar Association, and the Steward of Justice award, bestowed by then-Attorney General Christine Gregoire.

Not content with one career, Bill took on multiple public service roles almost immediately. In addition to his work with our foundation (WSPEF), Bill dedicated to improving educational opportunity for all children. He served on North Thurston School Board for 25 years.  Upon retiring from the AG's office, Bill continued his educational involvement, serving as President of the Washington State School Directors' Association, on the Board of the National School Board Association, as the Executive Director for the Washington Parent-Teacher Association, and also served on the Capital Region ESD 113 Board.

2013 AWSP Special Recognition Award | Leadership Framework Team

On occasion, we honor individuals and groups who have achieved extraordinary results during a school year with the AWSP Special Recognition Award. 

In 2013, AWSP honored a group of practicing principals, university researchers and industry experts who created Version 2.0 of the AWSP Leadership Framework. The AWSP Leadership Framework has been adopted by all the state’s 295 school districts as the framework for the state’s new required principal evaluation system.  

Special Recognition Award Recipients:

  • Gene Sharratt, Ph.D. | Executive Director, Washington Student Achievement Council
  • Glenn Malone, Ed.D. | Exec. Dir. of Assessment, Accountability/School Success, Puyallup SD
  • Sally Lancaster, Ed.D. | Principal, Everett High, Everett PS
  • Larry Lashway | Formerly a Program Specialist with OSPI Professional Education and Certification 
  • Chad Lochmiller, Ph.D. | Asst. Professor, College of Education, WSU-Tri-Cities
  • Kristen Schroeder | Principal, James Sales Elementary, Franklin Pierce SD
  • Nancy Strobel | Principal, Mountain View Elementary, Puyallup SD
  • Ailene Baxter, Ed.D. | Principal, Ferrucci Jr. High, Puyallup SD
  • Brian Lowney | Principal, Emerald Ridge High School, Puyallup SD

Past Award Winners

  • 2019 | Susan & Marty Fortin
  • 2018 | Chris Reykdal
  • 2017 | Sue Anderson & Jerry Bender
  • 2016 | Sen. Patty Murray & Sarah Bolton
  • 2015 | Jim Eisenhardt
  • 2014 | Edie Harding
  • 2013 | Jim Howard, Ph.D. 
  • 2012 | Michaela Miller
  • 2011 | Battelle (Jeff Estes & Peggy Willcuts)
  • 2010 | Dale Kinsley & Judy Hartmann
  • 2009 | John Pehrson
  • See the complete list of past winners.


For More Information 

Scott Seaman | Executive Director | (800) 562-6100

Back To Top