Inside AWSP

Torch of Leadership Award

Torch of Leadership Award header

The Torch of Leadership Award honors individuals serving in the Washington state government who have demonstrated outstanding support of principals and the principalship. The award was established in 2009.

Nominations are submitted by members of the AWSP Advocacy Advisory Council. The final selection is made by committee and AWSP staff members. Recipients are named in the spring after the legislative session and honored in October at the AWSP’s fall Advocacy Committee meeting.

2022 Winner: Representative Alicia Rule (D - 42nd)

Each year, AWSP’s Advocacy Advisory Council has the opportunity to select a state-level public servant who demonstrates support of principals and the principalship in the education of each and every student. The Association of Washington School Principals is thrilled to announce that our 2022 Torch of Leadership Award has been presented to Representative Alicia Rule (D–Blaine).

Representative Rule was elected to the Legislature in 2020 with a clear mission to represent children and young adults. She is Vice Chair of the Children, Youth, and Families Committee and serves on the Community and Economic Development and Capital Budget Committees. In her first two years as a state legislator, she sponsored significant pieces of legislation that support students in the K-12 system.

Representative Alicia Rule headshot

Past Winners


For More Information 

Roz Thompson | Government Relations & Advocacy Director | (800) 562-6100

Back To Top